Dear anyone,
Your duolingo forum registration isn't automaticaly transferred to duome forum so in order to join duome forums you need to register with your existing or any other username and email; in any case it's advised that you choose a new password for the forum.
~ Duome Team

Drop down "hints" give me too much and not enough

We are not Duolingo, we cannot solve any problems directly, but we can provide community-based advice.

SeanBurlington
Great Britain

Drop down "hints" give me too much and not enough

Post by SeanBurlington »

I'm new to Duolingo and have never been any good at learning languages

I don't know what the dative case is or what all this declension is about

but I'm enjoying myself learning Greek for no good reason

The problem I'm having is that when I get too many new words or concepts at once I can't keep track

But if I use the drop down hints it's pretty easy to choose which words to select

on the other hand the drop downs don't tell me why this is the right form of the right word

I enjoy how things don't translate exactly - and you can't always say the exact same thing in English and in Greek

So my question is partly where do I get the extra info (I wish the official forums still existed)

and how do I best answer the questions so that the AI can help me ?

Should I deliberately get questions wrong where I can figure out the answer from the clues (and things like where there are a list of words to choose and the main one I'm stuck on I can tell because it is the start of a sentence and capitalised)

I could try typing the answers - but Greek makes that extra hard and I didn't start that way (I wish I could go back to the beginning but only for translations TO Greek)

I would also like some extra practice on specific bits (like I still confuse the different forms of "the" and "a")