Dear anyone,
Your duolingo forum registration isn't automaticaly transferred to duome forum so in order to join duome forums you need to register with your existing or any other username and email; in any case it's advised that you choose a new password for the forum.
~ Duome Team

Explanation please for this forum

JohnStodden
Great Britain

Explanation please for this forum

Post by JohnStodden »

I am new to this site. I have been using Duolingo for several years, principally for Czech. I have not seen anywhere a discussion of WHY Duolingo have closed all the discussions. Was it costing too much to employ moderators? Have they shot themselves in the foot? It seems to me much of the value of Duolingo was in the discussions. I am a Plus user, but very unlikely to renew next time round. Shame! Obviously Duolingo are not going to encourage a discussion on why this decision was made, but there must be a discussion somewhere? Where? Thank you.

Explorer
Portugal

Re: Explanation please for this forum

Post by Explorer »

First of all, welcome to the new forum [mention]JohnStodden[/mention] 🙂

Was it costing too much to employ moderators?

Moderators were not employees. They were volunteers who did not earn any money for their job. All they said was that the closure of the forum was due to cost-benefit reasons. No further details were given to us, so I'm afraid we'll never know what really happened.

The truth is that the old forum was a very useful tool for a lot of people. Unfortunately they didn't promote it enough and in its last days of life there were some security issues and too much spam. The good news is that we have Duome now, a much better, modern and safer place where you can find language learners from all over the world.

JohnStodden wrote: Tue Sep 06, 2022 1:34 pm

Obviously Duolingo are not going to encourage a discussion on why this decision was made, but there must be a discussion somewhere? Where? Thank you.

We discussed Duo's decision here.