Dear anyone,
Your duolingo forum registration isn't automaticaly transferred to duome forum so in order to join duome forums you need to register with your existing or any other username and email; in any case it's advised that you choose a new password for the forum.
~ Duome Team

Languages you’ve enjoyed the most and/or were intuitive to learn?

verdensrommet
United States of America

Languages you’ve enjoyed the most and/or were intuitive to learn?

Post by verdensrommet »

In other words, what languages have you enjoyed learning? And, which languages were easy for you to grasp and begin using quickly?

Native: 🇺🇸 ~ B1: 🇪🇸 Upper A1: 🇳🇴 Image Lower A1: 🇩🇪 Dabbling: Image 🇸🇪 🇨🇳

IceVajal
Germany

Re: Languages you’ve enjoyed the most and/or were intuitive to learn?

Post by IceVajal »

I'm just a beginner, but as a German native who speaks English Dutch is easy to understand. Listening to a podcast worked well right from the start and even reading news is easy. Sure, still lots of words I don't know, but I can get the meaning.

N :de: - B2 :us: - Beginner :ru: (Busuu: B1) - :netherlands:

LICA98
Finland

Post by LICA98 »

Romanian is my fav

SweNedGuy
Belgium

Post by SweNedGuy »

My experience with German is symmetrical from that one of IceVajal with (my native) Dutch. We had just one hour of German a week while in the last three years of secondary school. During my military service in Westfalen, I cranked up my German again. My speaking ability won't ever get beyond B1, but I can read anything I like or watch German TV.

On Duolingo learning Swedish was remarkably easy. The vast majority of words have either a Dutch, a German or an English cognate. Deciphering a written text gets easier by the day, but listening to spoken Swedish still is above my league, even with a golden tree.

Speaking :netherlands: :fr: :uk: :es: Learning :de:(B2-) :it:(B1) Image :sweden: :portugal: Image (A)

Chrisinom
Germany

Post by Chrisinom »