Dear anyone,
Your duolingo forum registration isn't automaticaly transferred to duome forum so in order to join duome forums you need to register with your existing or any other username and email; in any case it's advised that you choose a new password for the forum.
~ Duome Team

Omission of the redundant indirect object pronoun

Moderators: Stasia, xillegas

Cifi

Omission of the redundant indirect object pronoun

Post by Cifi »

I'm aware that it is not strictly required, but very, very common to use it in most sentences.

But then there are Duolingo sentences where they would reject it, e.g. this one:

https://forum.duolingo.com/comment/32773732

which doesn't accept "Ella le añade un programa nuevo / un nuevo programa a la computadora / al ordenador".

Would there be a reason for it? Does this one sound better to you without the clitic pronoun?

Native: :de: Intermediate: :uk: Lower intermediate: :es: Beginner: :fr: Absolute beginner: 🇬🇷
(If there are errors in what I'm writing in either language, please do correct me - I'll never take it as offense or something like that.)

b05aplmun.ca
United States of America

Re: Omission of the redundant indirect object pronoun

Post by b05aplmun.ca »

If I saw "le" in a sentence like that, I would assume it meant something like "She adds a new program to the computer for him/her."

I suspect that here "a" is a preposition, so "computer" is a prepositional object, rather than an indirect object. A loosely parallel sentence might be "ella pone la computadora en la caja." We would not treat "caja" as an indirect object.

Other thoughts?

Cifi

Post by Cifi »

Well if we used poner with the preposition a, Spanish speakers explained that they would use the pronoun. It was a sentence like she put too much salt in the salsa (or soup?), and they said either

• Puso demasiada sal en la salsa

or

• Le puso demasiada sal a la salsa

would be fine, but they wouldn't say

• Puso demasiada sal a la salsa

if I remember correctly.