Dear anyone,
Your duolingo forum registration isn't automaticaly transferred to duome forum so in order to join duome forums you need to register with your existing or any other username and email; in any case it's advised that you choose a new password for the forum.
~ Duome Team

An ambiguous sentence?

Moderators: xillegas, Stasia

Cifi

An ambiguous sentence?

Post by Cifi »

• Why did Paul say he wouldn't be able to make it?

To me, this could mean either why he said it, or that he said why he wasn't able to make it, and I guess it would depend on context how it would be understood.

The Spanish translation is:

• ¿Por qué dijo Paul que no podría ir?

Does this have the same ambiguity?

Native: :de: Intermediate: :uk: Lower intermediate: :es: Beginner: :fr: Absolute beginner: 🇬🇷
(If there are errors in what I'm writing in either language, please do correct me - I'll never take it as offense or something like that.)

Julian_L.
Argentina

Re: An ambiguous sentence?

Post by Julian_L. »

The sentence in Spanish is not ambiguous because it's specifically using the verb «ir» ("to go"), and the wording has only one interpretation.

• ¿Por qué dijo Paul que no podría ir? → Why did Paul say he/she wouldn't be able to go there?

:argentina:N :it: Image

John238922
Australia

Post by John238922 »

Likewise the sentence in English is not ambiguous, because of the word order.

It seeks the reason why Paul said ...

[mention]Cifi[/mention] 's other construction would be

'Did Paul say why he wouldn't be able to make it?'

Cifi

Post by Cifi »

John238922 wrote: Mon May 16, 2022 11:58 pm

@Cifi 's other construction would be

'Did Paul say why he wouldn't be able to make it?'

Thanks John! In the whole lesson they always put the question word first in English even though it logically seemed related to the subordinate clause. I'll see if I find that skill again.

Native: :de: Intermediate: :uk: Lower intermediate: :es: Beginner: :fr: Absolute beginner: 🇬🇷