Dear anyone,
Your duolingo forum registration isn't automaticaly transferred to duome forum so in order to join duome forums you need to register with your existing or any other username and email; in any case it's advised that you choose a new password for the forum.
~ Duome Team

Sentence in passive voice with partitive noun

Moderators: Stasia, xillegas

Cifi

Sentence in passive voice with partitive noun

Post by Cifi »

I wonder what good translations of "Clown costumes were worn by both of the thieves" might be, assuming we are keeping to passive voice in Spanish.

My try:

Fueron usados disfraces de payaso por ambos ladrones.

Is this correct or would you favour Duolingo's translation: "Los disfraces de payasos fueron usados por ambos ladrones"? (To me this sounds specific, like e.g. these particular costumes that were found two blocks away soon after the robbery, but I may be wrong.)

Native: :de: Intermediate: :uk: Lower intermediate: :es: Beginner: :fr: Absolute beginner: 🇬🇷
(If there are errors in what I'm writing in either language, please do correct me - I'll never take it as offense or something like that.)

Stasia
Poland

Re: Sentence in passive voice with partitive noun

Post by Stasia »

[mention]Cifi[/mention], the second translation (Los disfraces de payasos fueron usados por ambos ladrones) sounds more natural to me.

Native: :poland:; Fluent: :es:, :us:; Getting there: Image; Intermediate: :fr:; Beginner: :ukraine:

Julian_L.
Argentina

Post by Julian_L. »

First as a clarification, this sentence in a normal conversation would use the active voice:
[Ambos]/[Los dos] ladrones usaron disfraces de payaso

But if for some reason you have to use the passive voice, there are two options:

• (Unos) disfraces de payaso fueron usados por [ambos]/[los dos] ladrones. → Some clown costumes were worn by both of the thieves.