Dear anyone,
Your duolingo forum registration isn't automaticaly transferred to duome forum so in order to join duome forums you need to register with your existing or any other username and email; in any case it's advised that you choose a new password for the forum.
~ Duome Team

Sju or syv?

Moderator: SansEspoir

verdensrommet
United States of America

Sju or syv?

Post by verdensrommet »

Which one do you use, and when (if applicable)?

Native: 🇺🇸 ~ B1: 🇪🇸 Upper A1: 🇳🇴 Image Lower A1: 🇩🇪 Dabbling: Image 🇸🇪 🇨🇳

ChiChi

Re: Sju or syv?

Post by ChiChi »

Hiya, Alex here. Just a disclaimer: I'm just a newbie in Norwegian, and I'm also just learning it. What I heard from native speakers is that both "sju" and "syv" are correct depending on your dialect, but "sju" is much more common. I think it's just different ways to say the same thing, and just to be aware in case someone says "syv."

Native in: 🇺🇸 🇨🇳 | Learning: 🇳🇴

anamorphism

Post by anamorphism »

just pick one and stick to it.

syv would be the more danish influenced spelling/pronunciation i believe. i read with an oslo native that says syv when reading.

you'll see a few y(v)/ju swaps, with the y(v) spelling typically only allowed in bokmål and the ju spelling generally accepted in both bokmål and nynorsk. tykk/tjukk, tyv/tjuv and syk/sjuk off the top of my head.

another example is the danish tyve for tjue which some folks use but that appears to not actually be allowed in bokmål.

Jim606185
Australia

Post by Jim606185 »

Is that like hvad or hva ? I notice that Duolingo uses Hva (so far).

Native English Speaker. Currently studying French, German (basic), Dutch (Beginner), Italian (Intermediate), Russian (basic), Chinese (beginner), Scottish Gaelic (Intermediate), Norwegian (Basic)
Ic rǣde englisc spræce.

Olav
Norway

Post by Olav »

"Hvad" is not a norwegian word (anymore). "Syv" have I, for one, never said.

Ace1
Norway

Post by Ace1 »