Dear anyone,
Your duolingo forum registration isn't automaticaly transferred to duome forum so in order to join duome forums you need to register with your existing or any other username and email; in any case it's advised that you choose a new password for the forum.
~ Duome Team

Hello

lrai
United States of America

Hello

Post by lrai »

Hello, is there anyone out there also learning Yiddish? I am pretty new to this language on DL but I grew up hearing it when I was very young. I am working now on trying to read it but it's not easy. I can read YIVO but the "Hebrew" characters are a little harder for me. I am focusing for now on trying to learn them so I have stopped lessons for a while so I can just concentrate on the characters.

If there is anyone else interested in talking about their learning (journey) for Yiddish, I'd be happy to hear from you. :D

lrai
what's your legacy
Image 🇨🇳 🇷🇺 Learning Yiddish, Chinese, Russian

Kelikaku
Israel

Re: Hello

Post by Kelikaku »

Both Hebrew and Yiddish, originally didn't have any instructions on that topic. Now both of them have a completely separate set of drills on how to read and write the language:

https://www.duolingo.com/alphabets/yi/yiddish/tips

You can do these drills and earn XP points for completing them.

Hope this helped.

Thanks so very much.
Keep up the good work.

bs'd

lrai
United States of America

Post by lrai »

Kelikaku:

Nice to see you here, Yep I know about the "alphabet" section and I have been working on that for over 6 weeks now. I do one lesson per day b/c I don't have much time to devote to it. It's been good and I feel like it's helping but sometimes it's very hard to remember which character is what. So many look the same. Is there a trick?

lrai
what's your legacy

OtAzoy
United States of America

Post by OtAzoy »