Dear anyone,
Your duolingo forum registration isn't automaticaly transferred to duome forum so in order to join duome forums you need to register with your existing or any other username and email; in any case it's advised that you choose a new password for the forum.
~ Duome Team

Kanji and Furigana

Moderator: Explorer

FrankenBeenz

Kanji and Furigana

Post by FrankenBeenz »

I'm still very new to Japanese. Obviously I will have to learn Kanji, I'm just working through hiragana and katakana first, but I am wondering about Furigana. Until I can write kanji on my own, is it acceptable to write the kanji in the hiragana/katakana that appear in the Furigana above the kanji?

Thanks in advance 😊

McGonnagle
Japan

Re: Kanji and Furigana

Post by McGonnagle »

FrankenBeenz wrote: Tue May 30, 2023 12:57 am

I'm still very new to Japanese. Obviously I will have to learn Kanji, I'm just working through hiragana and katakana first, but I am wondering about Furigana. Until I can write kanji on my own, is it acceptable to write the kanji in the hiragana/katakana that appear in the Furigana above the kanji?

Thanks in advance 😊

Welcome to the world of Japanese language!  

I think that is a good way to start learning Japanese. Japanese children also learn to write in the same way. First graders in Japan only memorize 80 to 100 kanji.   

In Japanese, the same sound has many different meanings, and because words are not written in spaces, even the same sentence can have completely different contents depending on how it is read. Therefore, if you can't read Kanji, reading will eventually become difficult. Even if you can't write, you'll be fine if you can read. And when you convert Hiragana to Kanji by typing, you will be presented with a few/ several options, so if you can select the appropriate kanji from among them, then there should be no problem.